View Full Version : Women's College World Series

ljbab728
05-25-2013, 07:50 PM
The Sooners have now advanced to the Women's College World Series. Attendance is always good but having OU there will assure the organizers of great crowds. The Sooners have been plowing through everyone this year. The competition will certainly be good but they have to be a strong favorite.

SoonerDave
05-25-2013, 08:06 PM
I'm no softball expert, but I did try to follow this particular team a bit more than normal. The things I've read from softball "experts" talk about this year's Oklahoma team as an all-timer with one of the most potent offenses ever combined with the 1-2 pitching combination of Ricketts and Gascoigne (sp). They started getting people's attention early this year by plowing through a couple of west coast tournaments just about unchallenged.

Obviously, anything can happen in any give game, but OU has a sore spot from last year's national title loss to Alabama, dropping two straight championship chances, so this team has a huge goal clearly in mind. They certainly are what would be termed a prohibitive favorite to win the whole thing.

Texas A&M was no slouch team, and OU won the 2-out-of-3 series by a combined score of 18-2 in only ten total innings. Yesterday's game was a bit tighter than the 10-2 final would suggest, but today's game was a comparative walkover.

This Sooner team is special. Here's hoping they win the whole thing!

Bill Robertson
05-28-2013, 07:16 AM
Potent offense indeed! They can hit for power. They can hit to get on the bases. And once on the bases they have great speed. Hard to beat an offense like that. Especially when backed up by excellent pitching.

ljbab728
05-30-2013, 10:33 PM
Off to a good start. 7 - 1 over Michigan with a no-hitter by Keilani Ricketts. Next up is Texas on Friday night.

SoonerDave
05-31-2013, 06:32 AM
Off to a good start. 7 - 1 over Michigan with a no-hitter by Keilani Ricketts. Next up is Texas on Friday night.